The Schengen area is a made up of 26 European countries that agreed to create common entry and exit requirements in order to remove the need for internal borders.

Canadian citizens do not need a visa for travel to countries within the Schengen area. However, visa-free travel only applies to stays of up to 90 days in any 180-day period. Stays are cumulative and include visits to all Schengen area countries.

Canadians planning to stay in the Schengen area for a longer period of time will require a visa from the countries to which they are travelling.

Schengen area countries: Austria, Belgium, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Denmark Bilateral Visa Agreements

Canadians, along with nationals from other countries, can stay in Denmark and other Nordic countries beyond the 90-day Schengen Area limit.

The bilateral agreements allow certain nationals to travel to Denmark and the other Nordic countries visa exempt for up to 90 days per every period of 180 days on the condition that the 90 days visa exempt period according to the Schengen rules has been spent outside of Denmark and the other Nordic countries prior to the visit to Denmark.

The bilateral visa agreements are valid for visits to Denmark and the Nordic countries only.

Denmark has bilateral agreements with Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Israel, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, and USA.


This page was last updated on 2021.03.19 by Robert Vinet