• Officially: Republic of Croatia
  • Capital: Zagreb


  • Population: 4.4 million
  • Major language: Croatian
  • Major religion: Christianity
  • Life expectancy: 74 years (men), 80 years (women)
  • Currency: kuna
  • Member of the EU since 2013


  • Area: 56,594 sq km (21,851 sq miles)


  • Croatia is a member of the European Union but it is not part of the Schengen area.
    • Canadians do not require a visa for stays up to 90 days
  • A country of striking natural beauty with a stunning Adriatic coastline, Croatia is again very popular as a tourist destination.


Safety & Security

  • NATO member


This page was last updated on 2021.03.18 by Robert Vinet