Flag of Belgium


  • Population » 11.5 million
  • Major languages » Dutch, French, German
  • Major religion » Christianity
  • Life expectancy »  81 years (2020), 79 years (men), 84 years (women)
  • Currency » euro
  • Member of the European Union » since 1 January 1958
    • Brussels is the de facto capital of the European Union (and also NATO Headquarters)


Security Map of Belgium (via France, May 2022)



Belgium, a country in Western Europe, is known for medieval towns, Renaissance architecture and as headquarters of the European Union and NATO. The country has distinctive regions including Dutch-speaking Flanders to the north, French-speaking Wallonia to the south and a German-speaking community to the east. The bilingual capital, Brussels, has ornate guildhalls at Grand-Place and elegant art-nouveau buildings. (via Google)


  • Member of the open border Schengen Area since 1985.
    • Belgium is one of the first five countries to sign the Schengen agreement.

Velo 🚲

  • Antwerp is one of the world’s top bicycle-friendly cities
    • The city is improving and connect the cycling network through intersection improvements, traffic light management, and an aim to lower speed limits to 30 km/h (18.6 mph) on 95% of all city streets. (via Wired)
  • Belgium’s best cycling routes include »


  • Driving » Right side

Safety and Security

Travel Advice From Other Governments



This page was updated December 22, 2022