• Officially: Republic of Estonia
  • Capital: Tallinn


  • Population 1.3 million
  • Languages: Estonian, Russian
  • Religion: Christianity
  • Life expectancy: 70 years (men), 80 years (women)
  • E.U. member country: since 1 May 2004
  • Currency: euro
    • First Baltic country to adopt the euro in 2011


  • Area: 45,227 sq km (17,462 sq miles)
  • Bordered to the west by the Baltic Sea, to the south by Latvia, to the north by the Gulf of Finland and to the east by Lake Peipus and Russia.
    • This flatland country also consists of 2,222 islands and islets in the Baltic Sea.


  • It is one of Europe’s least crowded countries.


  • Its government signed the Schengen agreement on 16 April 2003 and started its implementation on 21 December 2007.


This page was last updated on 2021.03.18 by Robert Vinet