Flag of the Republic of Ireland

Flag of the Republic of Ireland

  • Officially ยป Republic of Ireland
  • Capital ยป Dublin
    • Also the largest city


  • Population ยป 4.6 million
    • Around 40% of the country’s population resides in the Greater Dublin Area.
  • Major languages ยป English, Irish
  • Major religion ยป Christianity
  • Life expectancy ยป 78 years (men), 83 years (women)
  • Member of the European Union
  • Currency ยป euro
  • Emergency Numbers ยป
    • 999 or 112


  • Area ยป 70,182 sq km (27,097 sq miles)
  • The Republic of Ireland shares its only land border with Northern Ireland, which is part of the United Kingdom.


  • Not a member of the Schengen Area Agreement
  • Canadians do not require a visa for stays up to 90 days.



  • Of the 32 counties that make up the island of Ireland, 26 counties are in the Republic of Ireland and 6 are in Northern Ireland.