• Capital: Belfast


  • Population: 1.8 million
  • Major language: English
  • Major religion: Christianity
  • Monetary unit: 1 pound sterling = 100 pence


  • Area: 13,576 sq km (5,242 sq miles)
  • The only land border in the UK is between Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland
  • The 32 counties within the island of Ireland are divided between the 26 counties in the Republic of Ireland and 6 in Northern Ireland.


  • Status: Semi-autonomous part of the United Kingdom.
  • Nationalists favour union with the Irish Republic
  • Main exports: Textiles, machinery


This page was last updated on 2021.03.12 by Robert Vinet