• Officially: Republic of Lithuania
  • Capital: Vilnius


  • Population: 2.9 million
    • facing a demographic decline, with one of Europe’s highest emigration rates
    • home to more than 3.7 million people in 1991
  • Languages: Lithuanian (official), Russian, Polish, Belarusian
  • Religion: Christianity
  • Life expectancy: 67 years (men), 78 years (women)
  • Member of the European Union, NATO
  • Currency: euro
    • the last Baltic country to adopt the euro in 2015


  • Area: 65,300 sq km (25,212 sq miles)
  • Bordered by
  • Lithuania is the largest and most southerly of the three Baltic republics


  • Lithuanian is one of the oldest languages in the world
  • Vilnius is described as the quirky capital of Lithuania
  • Lithuania gained independence in 1991, after having been a part of the Soviet Union
  • More than one in five people live below the national poverty line


  • Lithuania signed the Schengen area agreement on 16 April 2003 and started its implementation later on 21 December 2007.
  • There are three UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Lithuania
  • In 2017, Lithuania received 413,966 visa applications, more than Austria, Portugal, Sweden, Denmark, or Norway.


This page was last updated on 2021.03.18 by Robert Vinet