Flag of Montenegro

Flag of Montenegro

  • Officially » Црна Гора
    • Republic of Montenegro (English)
  • Administrative capital » Podgorica


  • Population » 633,000
  • Languages » Montenegrin, Serbian
  • Major religions » Christianity, Islam
  • Life expectancy » 73 years (men), 77 years (women)
  • Currency » euro
  • Electrical current » 230 Volts @ 50 Hz
    • Plug Type » C / F


Map of Montenegro (Source » France, June 2021)

Map of Montenegro (Source » France, June 2021)



  • UNESCO protected Boka Bay is home to Porto Montenegro


  • Drive » Right side
  • “Despite being one of the smallest countries in Europe, Montenegro has it all; glorious beaches, bustling historical towns, blissful lakes and rugged mountain ranges. It’s the perfect place for a road trip. Pick up a car in Herceg Novi and head south along the coast, stopping off to bask on sandy beaches and explore the enchanting old towns of Kotor and Budva. Head inland to Lake Skadar for boat trips, bird-watching and delicious local food. Next, climb north-east, along spectacular mountain highways, arriving in Durmitor national park. Stay in a cosy cabin and explore glacial lakes, canyons and tremendous peaks.” via The Guardian

Safety and Security

  • Member of the NATO alliance

Government Travel Advice for Montenegro

World Rankings


  • Fast growing tourism economy
  • Impending EU candidacy
  • Citizens enjoy an above average standard of living
  • Fast track to citizenship with spendy investment scheme
    • Alongside a qualifying real estate purchase of at least €450,000, investors are required to make a government fund contribution of €100,000, alongside processing, application and due diligence fees.