• Officially: Republic of Serbia
  • Capital: Belgrade


  • Population: 9.8 million (UN, 2012, includes Kosovo; UN mission estimates Kosovo population as circa 2 million)
  • Language: Serbian
  • Religion: Christianity
  • Life expectancy: 72 years (men), 77 years (women)
  • Currency: Dinar


  • Area: 88,361 sq km (34,116 sq miles) (includes Kosovo)
  • Serbia is located in southeast and central Europe
  • The landlocked nation shares its borders with Romania, Hungary, Macedonia, Bulgaria, Montenegro, Croatia, and Bosnia-Herzegovina.


  • Serbia became a sovereign republic in the summer of 2006 after Montenegro voted in a referendum for independence from the Union of Serbia and Montenegro.