• Officially: The State of Palestine
  • Proclaimed capital: Jerusalem
    • Administrative center: Ramallah


  • The entirety State of Palestine has been occupied by Israel since the Six-Day War in 1967.
  • Population: 4,816,503


  • Area: 6,020 km2 (2,320 sq mi)
    • West Bank: 5,860 km2
    • Gaza Strip: 360 km2
  • The Gaza Strip borders the Mediterranean Sea to the west, Egypt to the south, and Israel to the north and east.
  • The West Bank is bordered by Jordan to the east, and Israel to the north, south, and west.
  • Largest city: Gaza City


  • The State of Palestine is recognized by 137 UN member countries.
    • 71% of the 193 member states of the United Nations recognize the State of Palestine.
    • Palestine is not recognized by Australia, Canada, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, South Korea, Switzerland, the USA, and Israel.
    • Of the EU’s 28 member states, only Sweden, Hungary, Poland, and Slovakia recognize Palestinian statehood


  • The UNWTO reported that in 2017 Palestine had the fourth biggest year-over-year percentage increase in international tourist arrivals.
  • Lonely Planet writes the West Bank is not the easiest place in which to travel but the effort is richly rewarded.


  • Driving side: Right

Safety & Security

  • Parts of the Palestine territories are considered some of the most dangerous destinations for travellers. (2019)

News about Palestine