• Officially Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands, are a group of four volcanic islands in the southern Pacific Ocean that are under the jurisdiction of the United Kingdom.
  • The Pitcairn Islands are one of the world’s most remote inhabited locations.
  • Only one of the four islands, Pitcairn, is inhabited, with approximately 56 people July 2014), making it the least populous national jurisdiction in the world. This also makes it one of the world’s least density populated with 1.19 people per square kilometer.
  • Much of the Pitcairn islands are inaccessible, or difficult to access due to high limestone cliffs covered in sharp coral that form a barrier to the more inhabitable interior.
  • Part of its low population stems from its remote location in the South Pacific, and the fact that it currently has no landing strip for airplanes, though yachts and cruise ships are welcome in its harbour.
  • Tourism plays a vital role in the country’s economy.
  • Pitcairn itself is quite fertile and friendly to human habitation.