🌐 Travel + Adventure

Western Sahara 🇪🇭


  • Western Sahara is a non-self governing territory on the northwest coast of Africa bordered by Morocco, Mauritania, and Algeria.
  • There are few, if any, known diplomatic presences in Western Sahara.
  • After Spain withdrew from its former colony of Spanish Sahara in 1976, Morocco annexed the northern two-thirds. Morocco claimed the rest of the territory in 1979, following Mauritania’s withdrawal. A guerrilla war ensued contesting Morocco’s sovereignty.  This ended in 1991 with the establishment of a UN peacekeeping operation.
  • The UN sought to offer a choice to the peoples of Western Sahara between independence or integration into Morocco. A proposed referendum never took place.
  • There are periodic ethnic tensions between the native Sahrawi population and Moroccan immigrants. Morocco maintains a heavy security presence in the territory.

News about Western Sahara

Travel Advisories

Last Updated:

© 2020 Adventure Trend

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑