• Population: 34,571 residence
  • Languages: English (official), Spanish, Llanito
  • Currency: Gibraltar pound


  • Area: 6.7 km2 (2.6 sq mi)
  • A limestone outcrop on the southern tip of the Iberian peninsula


  • Gibraltarians are British citizens.
  • A British overseas territory, Gibraltar has been ruled by Britain since 1713 under the terms of the Treaty of Utrecht.
    • Spain continues to claim sovereignty over the territory
  • Gibraltar is self-governing in all areas except defence and foreign policy.
  • With no large-scale agricultural or industrial activity, much of Gibraltar’s income comes from customs duties, offshore finance, internet gaming, tourism and the provisioning of ships.


  • It’s dominated by the Rock of Gibraltar, a 426m-high limestone ridge.
  • There are the remains of a 14th-century Moorish Castle and the 18th century Great Siege Tunnels


  • Drive on the Right
  • There is free travel between Spain and Gibraltar



Last Updated: